Fudgy Espresso Brownies

 

Now, I don’t normally bake a lot with gluten free flour.

I find that it is too starchy and too “sugary,” in the sense that my body reads, “SUGAR SUGAR SUGAR, CELESTE!” whenever I eat it. Though this sends a rush of endorphins and a feeling of (temporary) well-being through me, I’d rather not send my body on a blood-sugar roller coaster.

It doesn’t matter if it was in a biscuit or in a cookie. The way it rolls is: gluten free flour, if it’s based on a starch mix, gets turned into sugar fast, once it’s in my body.

I find that sprouted flours mitigate this effect in my body, and they are normally my go-to for baking.

SO. This is a special occasion recipe, folks. This is a sugary recipe with a sugary flour. Proceed with caution and with great enjoyment!

I’ve found that two recipes in my repertoire work the best when made with gluten free flour. One, buttery pecan lace cookies, will be featured another time.

This is the other: a dense, fudgy brownie that pleases all your inner needs for chocolate. And, boy, do I have some deep-seated inner needs.

Fudgy Espresso Brownies

1/2 cup unsalted butter from grass fed cows (or organic butter)

8 oz. semisweet chocolate (I use Ghirardelli)

½ cup Sucanat or coconut sugar

¾ tsp. unrefined sea salt (Celtic Sea Salt or Real Salt)

1 tsp. espresso powder

3 large eggs

1 cup gluten free flour blend

1 cup sprouted walnuts (use toasted, if you can’t get sprouted)

Preheat the oven to 350° F.

Melt the butter together with the chocolate in a double boiler (or make your own double boiler, like I do!). When the chocolate bits are almost all melted, take off the heat and whisk well to finish melting.

Pour in the sugar, salt, and espresso powder. Whisk well to combine. Let the mixture cool down, so that it doesn’t curdle the eggs, when you add them. Once it is acceptably cool, whisk in the eggs until a smooth, silky mixture appears before your eyes. Then, switching to a spatula, fold in the flour and the walnuts. Do not overmix.

Pour the batter into an 8″ square pan, greased or lined. Bake at 350° for 25-30 minutes. You want the brownies to be slightly firm, but to still give a little (implying that there is fudginess below). Take from the oven and immediately put on a rack to cool. Slice when cool. These stale quickly when exposed to the air, so cover with plastic wrap or store in an airtight container.

 

IMG_5655

 

I hope you enjoy this special treat. I know that I always do.

 

 

Disclaimer:

I am not a doctor, nutritionist, or health professional of any kind. This blog and this blog post is not meant to diagnose, treat, or recommend treatment for medical conditions of any kind. Please ask a doctor or a professional before making lifestyle or diet changes.

Copyright 2015 by Celeste Lightsey

Leave a Reply

